Triumph Triple Trophy launches for 2024 to run alongside the Moto2™ World Championship, powered by the fans


On the eve of the opening Grand Prix of the new season, Triumph Motorcycles and MotoGP™ have revealed the new 2024 Triumph Triple Trophy motorcycle, to be won by the rider who delivers the most stand-out performances in Moto2™ this season. And this year, for the first time, the winner will be chosen by the fans.

Launched at the Lusail International Circuit, Qatar, this year’s Triumph Triple Trophy will recognise and celebrate the riders who put in standout performances or comebacks within the incredibly competitive field, as well as those who achieve the biggest sporting success during each Moto2™ round. The winner at the end of the season will receive a custom-liveried Triumph Street Triple RS, powered by the 765cc triple from which the record-setting Moto2™ powerplant is derived.

Immediately after each Moto2™ Grand Prix, an expert panel representing Triumph and the world of MotoGP™ will select a shortlist of three standout riders from that GP. This will take into account the entire weekend, not just the race, and recognise stories of sporting perseverance and endurance as well as outright performance.

Fans will then be able to vote via the MotoGP™ Instagram channel, and the final order of those three riders will be directly decided by the number of fan votes each receives.

In reference to Triumph’s 765cc engine, points at each GP are awarded as such:

  • 7 points for the rider with most fan votes
  • 6 points for the rider with second most fan votes
  • 5 points for the rider with third most fan votes

Past recipients of the custom-liveried Street Triple RS are Marco Bezzecchi in 2020, Raul Fernandez in 2021, Jeremy Alcoba in 2022 and Pedro Acosta in 2023.

Steve Sargent, Triumph’s Chief Product Officer, said: “The Triumph Triple Trophy has run alongside the Moto2 World Championship for four years already, recognising and helping to highlight the incredible depth of competition throughout the field. We’ve seen some remarkable performances and some very worthy winners, and now we’re excited to announce a change for 2024.

“Moto2 fans can now decide the outcome of the Triumph Triple Trophy by voting for standout performers each weekend. By selecting from a shortlist of three riders each time, we hope the Moto2 community will relish the chance to decide who will take home this year’s Street Triple RS prize.

“We have seen lap records falling every year since our 765cc triple started powering Moto2 in 2019 and history-making seasons such as Pedro Acosta’s - the latest graduate from Moto2 to already shine in MotoGP. But there are so many factors and so much grit and determination that goes into every Moto2 Grand Prix and this is what the Triple Trophy, now powered by the fans, aims to reward.”

Carlos Ezpeleta, Chief Sporting Officer, Dorna Sports, added: “Triumph have proven a great asset to Moto2 since they joined the Championship, in terms of performance – breaking lap records and playing a key role in placing the class between Moto3 and MotoGP – and in terms of the impressive reliability we’ve seen week in, week out. As a sport with such strong connections to the vital global motorcycling industry, we’re also very proud to have them represented in the paddock as a manufacturer.

“Within that commitment, the Triumph Triple Trophy has become a much-coveted prize as well, and we’re really happy to introduce this new element for 2024: inviting fans to become part of the process and cast their votes.”


For more information, please contact: enquiries.racing@triumph.co.uk


Notes to Editors


  • First established in 1902, Triumph Motorcycles has a glorious racing history, competing in and winning races in almost every class and field of motorcycle sporting achievement. From winning the second ever Isle of Man TT in 1908, through to 1960s road and track domination in Europe and America, right up to contemporary racing achievements with the Triumph triple powered 2014 and 2015 SuperSport titles and World SuperSport racing, Isle of Man SuperSport TT wins in 2014 and 2019, courtesy of Gary Johnson and Peter Hickman, plus an average speed of over 130mph 2023 by Peter Hickman on his Triumph STR765, and a thrilling last-lap victory at the legendary Daytona 200 by Brandon Paasch on the Street Triple 765 in 2022.
  • Triumph’s racing legend continues as the exclusive engine supplier to the FIM Moto2™ World Championship since the start of the 2019 season. Triumph Motorcycles provides all the teams with race-tuned 765cc triples, each of which is based on the class-leading Street Triple RS powerplant. Redefining the class, Triumph broke record after record in the inaugural year, including the first ever +300km/h Moto2™ top speed. Reflecting these great successes, the wonderful feedback, and partnerships that Triumph have had with the riders and their teams, and the incredible response from Triumph fans across the world, Triumph and Dorna decided to extend the relationship in 2021 and again in 2023, signing a new contract for another five years of racing: 2025 – 2029.
  • In 2021 Triumph announced its forthcoming entry into the Motocross and Enduro worlds with the single-minded ambition and commitment to develop a championship winning team.
  • In 2022, the appointment of Team Principal Bobby Hewitt and Team Manager Stephen ‘Scuba’ Westfall was announced. The team will be located at a dedicated new state-of-the-art private race facility in the USA.
  • In 2023, Triumph announced its intention to compete in the 2024 MXGP/MX2 and SuperMotocross World Championships and confirmed the appointment of two top class riders to lead its race development testing. Clément Desalle joined as test rider for the Triumph Racing MXGP/MX2 Team, run by Thierry Chizat-Suzzoni, and Ivan Tedesco joined as full-time test rider for the Triumph Racing US SuperMotocross World Championship Team, led by Bobby Hewitt.
  • In September 2023, Triumph’s new 250cc motocross bike was revealed in public for the first time, at the SuperMotocross World Championship Final at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum in California.
  • In October 2023, Monster Energy was unveiled as the title sponsor of the MX2 team, named ‘Monster Energy Triumph Racing’ and the race bike was unveiled at the Motocross of Nations. In November the riders Mikkel Haarup and Camden McLellan were announced.
  • In January 2024, the Triumph Racing SuperMotocross team line-up was announced with Jalek Swoll and Evan Ferry racing the 250SX East Supercross series, while Joey Savatgy joins them for the Pro Motocross series later in the year.
  • In February 2024, Triumph Racing competed at its first ever Supercross event in Detroit in the 250SX East category with its new Triumph TF 250-X, while the Monster Energy Triumph Racing team competed in Spain as a pre-season warm-up for the MX2 World Championship.